For your 30’s

I spent the last night of my 20’s lying on the couch in my robe, eating burnt almond and sea salt dark chocolate and drinking Veuve Clicquot, while watching Bloodline on Netflix with my husband. I told a friend the next morning “if this is 30, sign me up!”

I do realize that 30 can be anxiety provoking though – a more mature friend told me that she went to sleep on the eve of her 30th birthday feeling happy and at peace and awoke on her birthday, in tears, and cried the whole day. I was slightly terrified that this was going to happen to me and am eternally grateful that it didn’t. And so because I am a sentimental sap, this milestone birthday got me thinking about all things that will define this new decade of my life.

celebrate, indeed

celebrate, indeed

  1. We can afford better booze!
    Let me start by saying that it is sheer coincidence that this is the first point – this message was written in my birthday card from my best friend and her boyfriend. Fine wines, craft beer, and fancy champagne are more readily available. Bye bye Baby Duck, boxed wine, and Smirnoff Ice (okay, maybe not Smirnoff Ice).
  2. I want to sleep and sleep well.
    It actually makes me feel ill when I reminisce about partying until 3am and then going to go work my part-time job at Sobey’s at 7:30am. I don’t have kids yet so give me at least 8 hours, every night. And, because I am a grownup now, I have a PVR now and can record anything that comes on after 10pm.
  3. I want to spend time at home.
    I like our apartment, love my husband and cat, and enjoy being home most nights. Other people can come and join us at home, it’s not that I’m anti-social or anything, I just value a home cooked meal and time spent in my own space.
  4. Price matching is a sport that I’m good at.
    I love to save money on groceries and I don’t care who knows it! Zach and I often predict how much we’ve spent on groceries each week based on the contents of our cart – we’re getting pretty accurate.
  5. Reading is important to me.
    blowing out the birthday candles

    blowing out the birthday candles

    I want to read more often because books are awesome. I love getting books recommendations and, thanks to a dear friend, I have started listening to audiobooks in the car and got a library card!

  6. Personal growth is real and meaningful.
    We can learn a lot about the power of our minds, souls, and spirits so why wouldn’t I want to do this? Being a better human and practicing being grateful on a daily basis are things I want to do.
  7. Coffee is delicious and necessary.
    I was a tea granny forever and still love tea in the afternoon and evening, but coffee is now a huge part of my life. I keep a French Press on my desk and enjoy drinking the darkest, blackest coffee I can find. I am a different (aka better) person in the morning once the stuff is in my veins.
  8. Family is life.
    I have been blessed with a beautiful, large extended family and I love being around them. How many people can say that they had a 30th birthday party at their childhood home with parents, brothers, aunts, uncles, cousins and friends? My gramma stayed at the party until midnight – she’s 87! I know how lucky I am and it would be a disservice to this blessing to not spend as much time as I can with these amazing people.
  9. I want to be good at my job.
    As a public servant, I actually want to serve people and be good at it. I want to understand the work that I do and the difference it makes, big or small. I want to be a resource and help make an impact in my community. What’s that quote…”Service to others is the rent you pay for your room here on earth.” Thanks, Muhammad Ali.
  10. I want to learn and explore.
    I have access to higher education and do not want to take that for granted. I love writing and sharing stories and think that I want to continue to do both. Also, I want to be smarter than I was in my 20’s.

    all my birthday love

    all my birthday love

  11. I want to spread love.
    I want to make other people feel loved and valued because, according to my spiritual work, it will bring more love into my life. It’s a simple concept that we so often overlook. Now, this doesn’t mean that I’m capable of loving everyone soooo….
  12. It’s okay if I don’t like you and you don’t like me.
    It’s just okay! It isn’t mean or hurtful or tragic…it’s just okay. What a relief.
  13. I always want to be a beginner at something.
    This goes hand in hand with the learning piece, but I want to be learning new things every year. I want to challenge myself because, ultimately, I know that we are all capable of incredible things. Thank you, Marianne Williamson.
  14. I don’t want to be a Jones…or a Kardashian.
    Keeping up with them is stressful and scary. I want to be more concerned with living right here, right now, and being thankful for everything in my life. Sure, I aspire to own my own washer and dryer, but I’m not going to ruin my day worrying about it.

There are many, too many, people who didn’t make it to 30 and for whatever cosmic reason, last Saturday I did. I’m not going to spend time wallowing about what I “coulda, woulda, shoulda” done differently – I am going to take 30 by the proverbial “you know whats” and live, damn it!

Other worldly advice is welcome – what have you learned about life after 29?

9 thoughts on “For your 30’s

  1. Yes! Yes! Yes! This is exactly how I feel now in my 30s and was actually just talking about this with a friend- how birthday celebrations used to mean going to a club until 3am and getting trashed to now going to someone’s house for dinner and drinks or out to a nice restaurant. As a side note- I didn’t see a new Smirnoff ice by the checkout at the LCBO, it was in a can and was raspberry sparkling something but it did look refreshing. I chuckled to myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A comment from your Gramma that I think is in line with your 30’s ‘theme’: The grass is NOT greener on the other side of the fence. My addition to this: It’s greener where
    you water it. Words to live by! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This read made me feel good…your sentiments are mine alike…can I excite you on a little tidbit…forties are even better than the thirties, if you can believe it…it just keeps getting better…why? cause you have the attitude that will help you through and appreciate all stages. God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Rebecca How did you create the email newsletter update from your blog post? I activated mine inadvertently… Which is great, but I would like to adjust it a bit. Please advise Charles C647-702-1494

    Like

Leave a Reply

