Mum’s The Word

“Good morning, good morning! How are you this morning? How are you this morning, my baby girl?”
Without the hum of my Mother’s tune I’m sure that this is lost on you, but I promise you that when I sing this song I am transported back to my 10 year old self, being woken up by my sweet Mum.

I don’t even know the last time my Mother thought about herself first. It seems that she is forever focused on helping – shaping the world around her into something better than it was before. My Mum has seen things, lived through things, felt things, and done things that I’m sure she has never shared with anyone and I like that about her.

Here are some things my Mum has taught me:

  • Angels, and Mediums, are real
  • Write “Mum” in cards that are for your mother (who says “Mom,” anyway?)
  • I’m your Mum, not your best friend
  • Every now and then, it’s important to have a good cry
  • Know when to walk away from a situation
  • Quote Pride and Prejudice in regular conversation, whenever possible
  • Everything happens for a reason
  • Glowsticks take parties to the next level…
  • So does Pitbull
DSC_8756

all love for the woman who gave me life

She loves fiercely. She swears she’s had enough and always go back for more because she never wants anyone to be left behind, let down, or on their own.  To this day, she will bring me soup when I’m sick, encourage my tears when I’m having that good cry, tell me stories, make me laugh, drive me crazy, and on special occasions, express her love. She is powerfully strong and I want to be just like her when I grow up.

I know that there have been times that I’ve taken her for granted – today isn’t one of them. I will always be the luckiest baby girl in the world.

Leave a Reply

