Pets & why we need them

IMG_20130604_074249

Little Miss Gigi

My family got our first dog when I was about 10. From that day forward, I think I’ve only gone a cumulative 6 months without a dog or a cat in my life. If you’re thinking about becoming a dog/cat owner (referred to as pet owner for the purposes of this post) there are many why I’ll always recommend it.
Here are a few things that you’ll be grateful for when you have a pet:

1. They can be your excuse. 
When you want to leave early, show up late, or just stay home all together, you’ll always have a reason! “I’ve got to let the dog out” or “The cat has been having this hairball issue” are always relevant excuses that your friends and family won’t question.

2. It’s good practice. 
Waking up to the sound of a barfing cat or a the scent of dog droppings at the foot of your bed are comparable to spit-up covered shirts and poop filled diapers…at least they are at this point in my life.

IMG_20140705_084301

Oakley, up to his usual tricks

3. You’ll help keep Swiffer in business. 
You’ll be able to support this multi-million dollar industry in making another couple hundred dollars a year because of your furry friend. You’ll basically be a humanitarian.

4. You’ll never be alone. 
Single? Spouse away for the weekend? Devoted cat lady? Whatever your life path, your home will always have someone who’s ready to greet you when you return.

5. You find out what real love is. 

After getting a pet, you literally become a different person. You’ll love your little creature more than you ever thought possible and feel that you must be the luckiest person in the world to have them – even when they’ve eaten rancid hot dogs from the compost and vomited everywhere (way to go, Oakley).
One day, when they have to leave you, your heart will break into a million little pieces and it will be awful – unfortunately there is not way around this. But, as they say, “tis better to have loved and lost…”

Dougie Slomka - our

Dougie Slomka – our “god dog”

6. You’ll always have photos to post on Instagram. 
Isn’t this really the most important reason of all? My feed is always full of cats and dogs and that’s the way I like it.

7. You’ll be part of a cool, unspoken club. 
Pet owners want to talk about pets, share stories, and hang out together. If you have friends that are pet owners,  you sometimes get to borrow them if they’ll let you (see below)! I’ve also heard that it can be a great way to pick up.

My pets have enriched my lives in ways that I’m still realizing. I do know that I’ve learned to be a little less self-absorbed and a little more responsible because of them. Pets are magical – getting one may not always be easy but it will always be worth it.
Please check out your local Humane Society/SPCA/Adoption Programs to help pets in need.

Cat Yoga

Gigi’s Cat Yoga

2 thoughts on “Pets & why we need them

  1. I so agree! I never thought I could love an animal so much until I got my furry friend “Minou”! He keeps me soft on the inside as much as he is on the outside. Thank you for your posts, I love all of them…your blog is the sole one I will read since our class…truly fun and enjoyable reads. God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

